High turnout at the National Micro-Credentials Summit

  • DeakinCo.
  • 21 March 2019

Thank you for all that attended the National Summit on Micro-Credentials and Accreditation at the Windsor Hotel. We had a successful day, with our attendees discovering the benefits of micro-credentials as well as how the professional associations can ensure the quality of micro-credentials through effective accreditation.

Micro-credentials support the concept of lifelong learning and allows people to upskill and move across a range of industries in their working lives. DeakinCo were proud to sponsor this event by the Australian Council of Professions as it addressed micro-credentialing and the importance it will have in the future.

Attendance was at high capacity at the Windsor Hotel with a total of 185 joining us on the day, who all were able to see such variety of speakers.

We would like to thank all the speakers, who managed to cover a range of topics throughout the day about micro-credentials and its benefits and disruptions, capability assessments, future proofing the workforce, Australian Quality Framework (AQF), student learning experience, TEQSA & Accreditation Bodies Perspective, Continual improvement in higher education.

Our speakers included:

  • A/Professor Marcus O'Donnell - Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Teaching and Learning), Deakin University
  • The Hon Trish White - National President and Chair, Engineers Australia
  • Professor Susan Elliott AM - Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education), Monash University
  • Dr Simon Eassom – Executive General Manager Education, CPA Australia
  • Professor Belinda Tynan – Deputy Vice Chancellor Education, RMIT University
  • Glenn Campbell - Executive Director, DeakinCo
  • Professor Peter Noonan - Chair, AQF Review Panel & Victoria University)
  • Anthony McClaran - CEO, Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)
  • Prof Sally Kift (ALTF),
  • Prof Elizabeth More (AIM)
  • Rob Thomason - Executive Director, VETASSESS
  • Rupert Grayston, Australian Computer Society (ACS)
  • Prof Marcus Bowles - Director and Chair, The Institute for Working Futures

The following day at Deakin University Downtown, attendees were able to gain further insights on understanding of the role of micro-credentialing in the chartered process and in CPD/CPE with two workshops led by Jane Fahey (Senior Manager Professional Practice – DeakinCo. and Dr. Asheley Jones (Head Professional Practice and Industry Partnerships - DeakinCo and Chair - AMI Accreditation Committee)

DeakinCo are proud sponsors of the National Summit on Micro-Credentials and Accreditation as we look forward to seeing you all again.